The Fatty Bao

There are days when you find things just refuse to work or go on strike.
I had one of these rare days a few weeks ago. There were a lot of things that needed to be done and I kind of had a mini meltdown.
Was helpless because of my dependencies on others to set this right. There was no point in sitting around when this got fixed so I rounded up two friends and headed out to lunch. To unwind mostly from all the subsequent stress.

After running through our choices we chose the Asian gastro bar The Fatty bao located in Indiranagar. The quirky and somewhat eccentric décor of Fatty bao, I like. I also love their casual atmosphere which takes us there over and over again. Luckily for us the Bangalore weather that day was awesome and  made us smile widely as we made our way to the tables on the terrace.

Once the menus were handed out,  we wasted no time in choosing our manna for the day, yes we were really hungee! Like how my 6 year old niece used to say in her younger days! 🙂

We decided to just order the small plates and share.
But first before anything we just had to have their bao’s. These are their specials. A bao is an open faced steamed bun with various fillings.
We went with three kinds – Patty bao (minced lamb with pickled gherkins, black bean sauce) Char Siu (BBQ pork belly, hoisin sauce, green apple kimchi, scallions and seasame oil) and Roast duck (spices, hoisin sauce, thin slices fo cucumber and scallions). All mouth watering. This is the only place in Bangalore that I’ve had a bao and I’ve always gone back for more and more and …you get my drift! 🙂

Their California rolls with crab meat is a personal favorite and I had to order it. It never disappoints. Delectable, very fresh and very flavorful.

This we followed up with an order of shaking beef, tossed with onions, peppers, fresh coriander and black bean sauce, as advised by the menu. We also ordered the duck pizza which we saw was interestingly served on a tortilla base with shredded roast duck, plum sauce, spicy mayo and Japanese chili seasonings.
The Fatty bao also has interesting drinks, do try. Our time was limited that day and we decided to forego drinks and just focus on their awesome array of ambrosial food.

The shaking beef and pizza made its way to our table soon after our bao’s and California rolls hit our stomachs. Can I just say the only sounds people around heard from our table was of the NOM NOM NOM NOM NOM’s?! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

I find their desserts really imaginative and yummy. I particularly like their funnily named “Halo Halo” – a deconstructed, organized, pleasing mess of raspberry sorbet, flan, shaved ice, jello, something caramelized and a few other ingredients’ which all come together rather scrumptiously.
My friends however decided to have the Japanese cheese cake which I tasted too. The sweet and sour cherry compote stood out and gave the cheese cake its edge. Just. Fabulous.

I had had my fill by then and was just soaking in the ambience, looking around and generally feeling happy. Good food always has that effect on me. 🙂
Was I suitably unwinded? Hell, yeah!

3 thoughts on “The Fatty Bao

Add yours

  1. Oh how I wish I could come and eat at all these eateries right now. That’s how well you’ve described the food and the ambience of this place.
    Keep them coming Liz. The foodie in me can never get enough of it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑

